Gladiator live in concert

As I sat from the luxury of my private box, hairs on end, tears in my eyes, watching some of the most epic movie scenes ever made, with a live orchestra belting out the soundtrack, the thrill of the cinema died for me.

Ridley Scott’s blockbuster Gladiator played on a giant screen inside the Royal Albert Hall, accompanied by the Philharmonia Film Orchestra and Philharmonia Chorus. THAT is entertainment. THAT is how all films of that calibre deserve to be shown.

The venue is presenting the film live in concert for the first time, until Wednesday May 28. I have no idea if tickets are sold out, but if they’re not, grab them now. Stop reading this, and buy those tickets.

image

Hans Zimmer’s sweeping score is belted around the theatre, aided by the fantastic acoustics of the venue, which coincidentally was modelled based on the design of the Coliseum itself. It was meant to be!

The film is a film to end all films anyway, as it’s five academy awards go to prove. It follows Roman General Maximus Decimus Meridius (Russell Crowe) as he encounters betrayal and slavery, and faces epic gladiatorial battles to avenge the murder of his family and emperor. However, its soundtrack is almost unbeatable, save for Lord of the Rings, which has already been shown in concert at the Royal Albert.

To watch conductor Justin Freer bringing the beautiful strings and brass to life was incredibly special and Lisa Gerrard’s guest vocals were the most haunting I’ve ever heard.

I’m talking hair on the back of your neck stuff. Even as the credits rolled, the audience watched in silence, enraptured by the music being played out in front of them. As the enchanted audience stood in rapturous applause at the end, a wave of emotion came over me. I have never felt so touched by a live performance.

Amazingly powerful stuff. I will be returning and I wholeheartedly recommend everybody to do the same.

Leave a comment